4 APR 2005: Support Bicycle Safety Bill in House Transportation Committee

Bicyclists:

The Bicycle Safety Bill (known as HB632 on the House side) is up for a hearing this Wednesday, April 6th, at 8AM in the House Transportation Committee.

I'm expecting the House Transportation Committee to be a little bit tougher venue than the last hearing (the Senate Economic Development).

I will be there to represent the Missouri Bicycle Federation and to testify in favor of the bill. Our lobbyist, Jim Farrell will also be there and testify.

If you have a few minutes to call or email one of the representatives on the committee, it would really help.

If you live in (or near) one of the reps districts, that is definitely the person to contact (see the list of committee members below). Otherwise, the committee chair Neil St. Onge is probably the key person.

The message is simple:
Please support HB 632, the Bicycle Safety Bill. It is very important to Missouri bicyclists and will help to fix the bad reputation Missouri has among bicyclists across the U.S.
Brent Hugh
President, Missouri Bicycle Federation

House Transportation Committee Members:
St. Louis area
St. Onge, Neal C., Chair - Ballwin; St. Louis county
573-751-5568
Neal.St.Onge@house.mo.gov

Bowman, John L. - Normandy; St. Louis county
573-751-4726
john.bowman@house.mo.gov

Smith, Joe - St. Charles; St. Charles county
573-751-2250
Joe.Smith@house.mo.gov

Daus, Michael - St. Louis City
573-751-6736
Mike.Daus@house.mo.gov

Threlkeld, Kevin - Washington; Franklin, St. Charles counties
573-751-0538
Kevin.Threlkeld@house.mo.gov

Kansas City area
Rector, Rex - Harrisonville; Cass County
573-751-9780
Rex.Rector@house.mo.gov

Young, Terry - Independence; Jackson County & Kansas City
573-751-9851
Terry.Young@house.mo.gov

Springfield area
Denison, Charles - Springfield; Greene County
573-751-2210
charlie.denison@house.mo.gov

Parson, Michael - Bolivar; Cedar, Polk Counties
573-751-1347
mike.parson@house.mo.gov

Other areas
Schlottach, Charles, Vice Chair - Owensville; Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade counties
573-751-6668
Charlie.Schlottach@house.mo.gov

Black, Lanie - Charleston; Mississippi, New Madrid, Scott, Stoddard counties
573-751-4560
Lanie.Black@house.mo.gov

Cooper, Nathan - Cape Girardeau county
573-751-1443
nathan.cooper@house.mo.gov

Henke, Wayne J. - Troy; Lincoln County
573-751-9459
Wayne.Henke@house.mo.gov

Kuessner, J. C. - Eminence; Iron, Reynolds, Shannon, Washington counties
573-751-2112
JC.Kuessner@house.mo.gov

Meadows, Tim - Imperial; Jefferson County
573-751-1311
Tim.Meadows@house.mo.gov

Munzlinger, Brian - Williamstown; Adair, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Marion, Schuyler, Scotland counties
573-751-7985
Brian.Munzlinger@house.mo.gov

Details about the bill:

http://www.house.state.mo.us/bills051/bills/hb632.htm

(note that the text available online is now out of date, and several important and less-important details will be changed when it comes before the committee.)