How did congressional bicycling supporters fare in yesterday's elections?

The League of American Bicyclists is reporting that of 157 House Bike Caucus members, 137 were re-elected to the House and 3 were elected to the Senate.

7 of the 15 Senate Bike Caucus members were up for re-election. 6 of the 7 won their seats.

The Congress Daily electronic publication is predicting that these 10 Bike Caucus members will be leaders in the House or on the following committees:

Agriculture Committee: Collin Peterson (D-Minn.)
Budget Committee: John Spratt (D-S.C.)
House Administration Committee: Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-Calif.)
Intelligence Committee: Jane Harman (D-Calif.)
Speaker of the House: Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.)
Resources Committee: Nick Rahall (D-W.Va.)
Rules Committee: Louise Slaughter (D-N.Y.)
Transportation & Infrastructure: James Oberstar (D-Minn.)
Science Committee: Bart Gordon (D-Tenn.)
Veterans Affairs Committee: Bob Filner (D-Calif.)
Perhaps most significant of all is Rep. James Oberstar's leadership in the Transportation & Infrastructure Committee. Oberstar has been a key supporter of building requirements for bicycle and pedestrian accommodation into federal transportation policy.

And these requirements are one reason we are starting to see real change in making Missouri a better place to walk and bicycle.

If you would like to see these changes continue and accelerate in Missouri, please support MoBikeFed's current Sustaining Membership Drive--we need to raise $15,000 by January 31st. Every dollar you give will be matched by a challenge grant from a generous private foundation. Every dollar you give will be used to make Missouri a better, safer place to walk and bicycle.